We have always aimed to pro­vide our users with qual­i­ty sup­port that is quick and rel­e­vant. If we want for it to remain the best it can pos­si­bly be, this com­mu­ni­ca­tion needs to be opti­mized on both ends. That’s why we believe that the recent intro­duc­tion of a small fea­ture deserves its own blog arti­cle. This is also the per­fect oppor­tu­ni­ty to recap some good prac­tices (for those who just want to get acquaint­ed with the new fea­ture we’re intro­duc­ing, scroll down to the last para­graph).

Profile and connection

When you sign up with always­da­ta, the first thing you pro­vide is your email address, which will allow you to cre­ate a pro­file in our sys­tem. Ensure that you’ve entered all your infor­ma­tion cor­rect­ly; this can lat­er prove use­ful, espe­cial­ly your tele­phone num­ber (in case of emer­gency, we may have to send you a text mes­sage or even call you if you have ded­i­cat­ed servers). The most impor­tant piece of infor­ma­tion is still your email address; make sure that you’ve pro­vid­ed an address that you check reg­u­lar­ly, since it will be auto­mat­i­cal­ly used by our sys­tem (domain renew­al alerts, impor­tant update infor­ma­tion, billing noti­fi­ca­tions, etc.).

With this, you have the bare min­i­mum to man­age your always­da­ta space. Bonus: a good secu­ri­ty prac­tice is to acti­vate two-fac­tor authen­ti­ca­tion.

Users and permissions

When mul­ti­ple peo­ple are involved with all you have on our plat­form (for exam­ple: host­ing accounts, one or more ded­i­cat­ed servers), it is impor­tant to cre­ate sep­a­rate per­mis­sions for each user. This is par­tic­u­lar­ly help­ful if you work as a team, but it’s also a very impor­tant secu­ri­ty prac­tice; if need be, it’s very easy to restrict access to a cowork­er who has left your team or, thanks to the his­to­ry, trace who did what. Also, it may be espe­cial­ly use­ful depend­ing on your oper­at­ing mode (if you use a third par­ty for web­site main­te­nance or even if you pay your bills through an account­ing firm).

Our per­mis­sions sys­tem is fair­ly flex­i­ble and allows you to assign spe­cial per­mis­sions to mul­ti­ple users:

  • user access: account man­age­ment (for exam­ple, cre­at­ing a new account owned by you), billing con­tact;
  • tech­ni­cal access (set by account or by serv­er):
    • tech­ni­cal con­tact: allows all tech­ni­cal con­tacts access to the account (or serv­er) in ques­tion;
    • spe­cif­ic tech­ni­cal per­mis­sions: access to FTP, data­bas­es, domains, emails, etc.

Technical and billing contacts

The notion of tech­ni­cal or billing con­tacts is a very impor­tant one with this per­mis­sions sys­tem and it is for this rea­son that we’ve decid­ed to release this arti­cle. As a mat­ter of fact, includ­ing the con­tacts in ques­tion in your sup­port tick­et was recent­ly made pos­si­ble (depend­ing on if the tick­et relates to a pro­file or an account/server), sim­ply by check­ing a box; so, if, for exam­ple, your account is infect­ed and your devel­op­er is prop­er­ly iden­ti­fied as a tech­ni­cal con­tact, they will auto­mat­i­cal­ly be alert­ed along with you, the own­er of the account in ques­tion.

However, you need to have cor­rect­ly set your per­mis­sions… and that’s up to you to play around with! 😉